The Embassy of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam was established in South Africa in the year 2000.

The Embassy has been operating at 87 Brooks street, Brooklyn, Pretoria, South Africa and is currently under the leadership of His Excellency, Ambassador Vu Van Dzung. 

The Embassy also covers Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland. Since its establishment, the Embassy of Vietnam has made significant contributions to the promotion of the relations of friendship and cooperation between Vietnam and South Africa, as well as with the neighboring African countries.

These above-mentioned accomplishments include the signing of various agreements with South Africa, forming the legal framework for the two countries' substantive cooperation in many areas. The significant documents signed include the following, among others:

  • the Joint Communique’ on Cooperation and Development;
  • the Agreement on the establishment of Intergovernmental Partnership Forum for Economic, Scientific, Technical and Cultural Co-operation;
  • the Agreement on visa exemption for diplomatic passports and official passports; and
  • the establishment of the Joint Trade Committee of Vietnam and South Africa (2004).

At the same time, the Embassy has also worked tirelessly to facilitate the efforts of both two sides to consolidate their excellent traditional political ties while supporting the exchange of delegations at different levels, from political officials to businessmen, from state to private sector, for exploring and implementing potentials of the two countries in many areas, as well as for the exchange of information and experience concerning their reform efforts and other good stories of the Vietnam and South Africa in their processes of national development. The cooperation between the two countries have become more and more substantive, especially in the field of trade, investment as well as nature conservation, water protection, and tourism, etc. In 2010, Vietnam and South Africa signed cooperation agreements on tourism and MOU (Memorandum of Understanding) in the field of water protection.

In 2014, the Embassy of Vietnam in South Africa successfully chaired the ASEAN Pretoria Committee, the group ASEAN Embassies and High Commissions in South Africa (APC), leading APC a step further in its efforts to increasingly strengthen the ASEAN role and image in the Southern part of Africa. (This page continues to be updated soon).